Hello! My lovely blog I have been neglecting you, hugs.

I’m a huge fan of podcasts, as regular readers will know so I thought I’d update the my list of awesome ear learning and fun (and often both at the same time) with some I don’t think I’ve mentioned before.

(As an aside I have previously mentioned my shift to Android and away from all things Apple. So if you are looking for an alternative to iTunes or an Android solution for podcasts my favourite apps are doubletwist and podcast addict).

Wilosophy As the name suggests it’s hosted by Wil Anderson, who does have a habit of talking over his guests. But it’s interesting and sometimes funny. And did I mention Wil Anderson? (lol, bit of a fan). He gets people he finds interesting in and asks them what their philosophy is, as well as long, fascinating, rambling conversations. I recommend the episodes with Karl Kruszelnicki, Judith Lucy, Pink Beecroft and Todd Sampson.

All in The Mind is an ABC Radio National show and this is the podcast of it (if you are new to podcasts many are recordings of radio shows which is an excellent way of catching up on missed episodes and picking up on shows outside your listening range). It covers topics to do with the mind, brain and in their words the mental universe. My favorite episodes lately are on dreaming and the mind body connection but practically ALL of them are good.

The Bugle is the product of John Oliver and Andy Zaltzman. It’s a weekly satirical news show, you might know John from his work with The Daily Show etc. It’s been around forever, is consistently excellent and very funny. As a regionally applicable taster they talked about Australians a while ago, which made the news here.

Nerdzilla is two Hobart boys talking all things geeky and nerdy. Movies, comics, gadgets and computers are all fair game and they are very good presenters and excellent geeks.

NPR Invisibilia is a new podcast from the NPR stable and in their words “explores the intangible forces that shape human behavior – things like ideas, beliefs, assumptions and emotions” and so far has been very cool. The latest episode, Batman, is like a book that you can’t put down. Not about the cartoon character but about people living with blindness and one person in particular. You should listen to it. Really.

I haven’t mentioned Serial because I think everyone in the known universe will have heard about it 🙂 Another new one that I haven’t tried yet but am going to try is The Allusionist, it sounds like one of those interesting ones.

 

