Holidays

It’s holiday time! Hobart I’ll be back in a couple of weeks.

In the meantime here’s my international travel bucket list. It’s not getting any shorter!

  • North Korea
  • Iran, Turkmenistan, Khazakastan, Uzbekistan
  • Oman and Yemen (although not the latter just at the moment!)
  • Siberia
  • Iceland
  • Vietnam (how have I not been here??)
  • Serbia/Croatia

South America I need to add but this would do for the time being 🙂

Addendum: it has be pointed out to me I aspire to travel to some not usual places. This is true. Last weekends newspaper had a piece that quoted Bill Bryson on the childlike wonder of being somewhere where you are ignorant of almost everything and I like it. Not only do I try to push my boundaries and expand my knowledge but I cut out a lot of what makes me an adult, which makes me notice what I really value about myself when I come back.

Suddenly you are five years old again.

You can’t read anything, you only have a rudimentary sense of how things work, you can’t even reliably cross a street without endangering your life.

Your whole existence becomes a series of interesting guesses.

Bill Bryson, Neither Here Nor There: Travels in Europe (via The Mercury).

